Historical and sacred tours in Turkestan

Turkestan. Southern Kazakhstan

Turkestan | El-Tourism

      The southern part of Kazakhstan is rich in its historical places. And one of the most significant and even sacred places is the city of Turkestan. We will tell you why this city is considered sacred, and how it attracts crowds of tourists and religious people to itself.

      Turkestan is one of the most ancient cities, the age of which is more than one and a half thousand years. And this is no accident, because long ago Turkestan was the capital of the Kazakh Khanate and was a significant figure both in politics and in the infrastructure of the khanate. For the same reason, Turkestan lands are rich in burials of noble people who directly influenced the formation and development of the Kazakh Khanate, which is why Turkestan is one of the favorite places for historians to visit and stay.

Holy places of Turkestan

 

Mausoeum of Khoja Ahkmet Yassaui

Mausoeum of Khoja Ahkmet Yassaui | El-Tourism

      But Turkestan's "gold bar" has always been and remains a well-known temple - the mausoleum of Khoja Ahmed Yasawi. The mausoleum itself was erected at the end of the XV century. Everyone who wants to get to the temple is greeted by a huge portal - the entrance to the mausoleum. The central hall is very large and leads to many rooms for various purposes, and in the middle there is a huge cauldron into which you can throw a coin and make a wish, in the belief, if the desire has the kindest and pureest thoughts, then it will certainly come true. The architecture of the building itself is also noteworthy, the mausoleum has the largest surviving brick dome in Central Asia, whose diameter reaches 18.2 meters. The technique of making bricks, inlaying and carving on the wooden elements of the temple, as well as the lining itself, all here preserved the beauty of that time and the excellence of the craftsmen who put their soul into their work.

      Also, the temple is of great importance for the Muslim community, it is believed that triple arrival in Turkestan is equivalent to one visit to the shrine of Mecca. Khoja Ahmed Yasawi Temple is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Arystan Bab

Arystan Bab | El-Tourism

      Another wonderful mausoleum and a wonderful reason to visit Turkestan and its environs is the Arystan Baba Mausoleum.

      Many have been here, even more people are aware of the existence of the building, but few people know the connection between Arystan-Bab and Khoja Ahmed Yasawi. But he was his mentor.

      Very entertaining story. Arystan - Bab was one of the comrades and associates of the Prophet Muhammad. And on one of the days when all the companions and the prophet himself were eating persimmons, one of the fruits constantly fell out of the bowl. At that moment, a revelation came down on Muhammad in which he heard that this persimmon belongs to one Muslim named Ahmed, who will be born 400 years later. The Prophet shared the news with his followers and decided to invite one of them to take responsibility and give the fruit to Ahmed. Nobody dared to take on such a desperate task, then Arystan-Bab said: “If you can beg 400 years of life from Allah, then I will give him the fruit.”

      It is believed that indeed Arystan - Bab met Ahmed, gave him a piece of fruit and became his mentor. Here is such an interesting story of the connection between Ahmed Yasavi and Arystan - Bab, his mentor.

      As you know, the mausoleum was erected on the grave of the saint and shares the land of the Turkestan region with his student. It is located near the fortress Otrar, which we will talk about later.

Otrar

Otrar | El-Tourism

      Many of us know about Otrar from the history school curriculum. The city was of great importance and at one time, before the invasion of the Mongols, was considered one of the major cities of Central Asia. Otrar had a rich infrastructure, which included a large madrasah, a bazaar, a forge, shops, mosques and baths and other structures. 

      Everything changed dramatically after the invasion of the Mongols under the leadership of the sons of Genghis Khan. The reason was the execution of the ambassadors of Genghis Khan and in 1219 the city was besieged for 6 months. During this time, the city’s supplies were depleted, and its authorities did not want to hand over it, which not everyone liked. One night, one of the citizens decided to end the siege and secretly opened the gates to the Mongols, thereby betraying their people. For his betrayal, the townsman was executed by the eldest son of Genghis Khan, Jochi, they burned the city, killed most of the population, and took the remaining people into slavery.

      In the fifteenth century, the city decided to rebuild. Since then, the most significant event that occurred in Otrat was the death of Tamerlane in 1405. Otrar was also part of the Kazakh Khanate in the period from 1465 to 1718. It was later destroyed by the invasion of the Dzungars and was completely abandoned by the beginning of the nineteenth century.

      Quite an interesting place for lovers of historical events and stories of surviving states and empires.

Mausoleums Aisha - Bibi and Babajia - Khatun

Mausoleums Aisha - Bibi and Babajia - Khatun | El-Tourism

      A pair of mausoleums, which will also meet during a trip to Turkestan, are the mausoleums of Aisha-Bibi and Babaji-Khatun. The history of both structures is connected with each other and has common legends about its appearance. In total, there are about twenty versions of the legends.

      According to one of the most common versions, Aisha - Bibi is considered to be the daughter of one of the most famous poets and scientists of the eleventh century. After the death of her father, Aisha was brought up by Sheikh Aikozhi.

      As time passed, the girl grew prettier and took a closer look at the ruler of the lands of Taraz - Karahan Muhammad, but her mentor did not approve of the union, which provoked the escape of Aisha. Having deceived the sheikh, the girl left her home and went to Taraz, but on the way near the Asa River she was bitten by a snake, from which she died.

      Later, a heartbroken bridegroom erected a mausoleum at the place of her death, the guardian of which was her fellow traveler Babaji - Khatun, who was buried in a mausoleum called Babaji - Khatun twenty meters from the Aisha - Bibi mausoleum.

      Here is such a sad and interesting legend, the variants of which you will hear more than once during a tour of Turkestan and its holy places.

      And in general, the whole city of Turkestan is an architectural and historical heritage of Kazakhstan, there are many places here, a visit to which will delight you. For example, the railway station of Turkestan, but it is considered an architectural monument. It was built in the distant 1903 during the laying of the Orenburg-Tashkent railway lines.

How to get to Turkestan from Almaty?

How to get to Turkestan | El-Tourism

      We offer you the most convenient and rational way to visit the city of Turkestan and plunge into the sacred - historical atmosphere by using our service!

      Here you can choose for yourself the most suitable tour to Turkestan, which will satisfy you both in terms of date and time, and in terms of the richness of the tour program. Here you can find the most suitable tour for you.

Рекомендуемые туры:
Тамгалы и Унгуртас

Туркестан

Туры в Туркестан.

Туркестан

      Южная часть Казахстана богата своими историческими местами. И одним из самых значимых и даже священных мест считается город Туркестан. О том, почему этот город считается священным, и чем он привлекает толпы туристов и верующих людей к себе, мы Вам и расскажем.

      Туркестан это один из самых древних городов, возраст, которого насчитывает более полторы тысячи лет. И это неспроста, ведь давным-давно Туркестан был столицей Казахского Ханства и был значимой фигурой, как в политике, так и в инфраструктуре ханства. По это же причине туркестанские земли богаты захоронениями знатных людей, которые напрямую влияли на образование и развитие Казахского Ханства, именно по - этому Туркестан одно из излюбленных мест для посещения и пребывания историками.

Святые места Туркестана.

 

Мавзолей Ходжа Ахмеда Ясави.

Туры в Туркестан

      Но «золотым слитком» Туркестана всегда был и остается немало известный храм - мавзолей Ходжа Ахмеда Ясави. Сам мавзолей был возведен еще в конце XV века. Всех желающих попасть в храм встречает огромный портал - вход в мавзолей. Центральный зал очень велик и ведет во множество комнат разнообразного назначения, а посредине стоит огромный казан, в который можно закинуть монетку и загадать желание, в поверье если желание имеет самые добрые и чистые помыслы, то оно обязательно сбудется. Также примечательна и сама архитектура строения, мавзолей имеет самый большой сохранившийся кирпичный купол в Средней Азии, диаметр которого достигает 18,2 метра. Техника выполнения кирпича, инкрустация и вырезка по деревянным элементам храма, а так же сама облицовка, все здесь сохранило красоту того времени и совершенство мастеров, которые вложили в свою работу душу.

      Также храм имеет огромное значение для мусульманской общины, считается, что трехкратное прибытие в Туркестан приравнивается к одному посещению святыни Мекка. Храм Ходжа Ахмеда Ясави занесен в список всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО.

Арыстан Баб

Тур в Туркестан

      Еще один прекрасный мавзолей и прекрасный повод посетить Туркестан и его окрестности – это мавзолей Арыстан Баба.

      Многие бывали здесь, еще больше людей знают о существовании сооружения, но мало кому, известна связь Арыстан – Баба с Ходжа Ахмедом Ясави. А ведь он был его наставником.

      Очень занимательная история. Арыстан – Баб был одним из товарищей и единомышленников пророка Мухаммеда. И в один из дней, когда все сподвижники и сам пророк трапезничали хурмой, один из плодов постоянно выпадал из чаши. В этот момент на Мухаммеда снизошло откровение, в котором он услышал, что эта хурма принадлежит одному мусульманину по имени Ахмед, который родится через 400 лет. Пророк поделился новостью со своими последователями и решил предложить одному из них взять на себя ответственность и отдать фрукт Ахмеду. Никто не решался брать на себя столь отчаянную задачу, тогда Арыстан – Баб сказал: «Если Вы сможете выпросить у Аллаха 400 лет жизни, то я отдам ему плод».

      Считается, что действительно Арыстан – Баб встретил Ахмеда, отдал ему косточку фрукта и стал его наставником. Вот такая интересная история связи Ахмеда Ясави и Арыстан – Баба, его наставника.

      Как известно мавзолей был возведен на могиле святого и разделяет со своим учеником земли Туркестанской области. Расположен он недалеко от городища Отрар, о котором мы поговорим далее.

Отрар

Отрат

      Об Отраре многим из нас известно из школьной программы истории. Город имел большое значение и в свое время, до нашествия монголов, считался одним из крупных городов Средней Азии. Отрар имел богатую инфраструктуру, в которую входило большое медресе, базар, кузница, магазины, мечети и бани и прочие сооружения.

      Все кардинально поменялось после нашествия монголов под руководством сыновей Чингисхана. Поводом послужила казнь послов Чингисхана и в 1219 году город осадили на 6 месяцев. За это время припасы города истощились, а его власти не хотели сдавать его, что нравилось не всем. В одну из ночей один из горожан решил закончить осаду и тайком открыл ворота монголам, тем самым предав свой народ. За свое предательство горожанин был казнен старшим сыном Чингисхана Джучи, город сожгли, большую часть населения убили, а оставшихся людей забрали в рабство.

      В пятнадцатом веке город решили восстановить. С тех пор самым значимым событием, произошедшем в Отрате, была смерть Тамерлана в 1405 году. Также Отрар был в составе Казахского Ханства в период с 1465 по 1718 года. Позже был разрушен нашествием джунгар и к началу девятнадцатого века был окончательно заброшен.

      Довольно интересное место для любителей исторических событий и историй переживших государства и империи.

Мавзолеи Айша – Биби и Бабаджи – хатун.

Мавзолеи Айша – Биби и Бабаджи – хатун

      Пара мавзолеев, которые также встретятся во время поездки в Туркестан, это мавзолеи Айша –Биби и Бабаджи – хатун. История обоих сооружений связана друг – с другом и имеет общие легенды о своем появлении. В общем, насчитывается, около двадцати возьми вариантов легенд.

      По версии одной самой распространенной считается, что Айша – биби была дочерью одного из известнейших поэтов и ученых одиннадцатого века. После смерти отца Айша воспитывалась шейхом Айкожы.

      Шло время, девушка хорошела и пригляделась правителю земель Тараза – Карахан Мухаммеду, но ее наставник не одобрил союз, что спровоцировало побег Айши. Обманув шейха, девушка покинула свой дом и отправилась в Тараз, но по пути у реки Аса ее укусила змея, от чего она умерла.

      Позже убитый горем жених воздвиг на месте ее смерти мавзолей, хранительницей которого стала ее попутчица Бабаджи – хатун, которую похоронили в мавзолее, названном Бабаджи – хатун в двадцати метрах от мавзолея Айша – биби.

      Вот такая грустная и интересная легенда, варианты которой Вы еще не раз услышите во время тура по Туркестану и его святым местам.

      Да и в целом весь город Туркестан является архитектурным и историческим достоянием Казахстана, здесь есть множество мест, посещение которых приведет Вас в восторг. К примеру, железнодорожный вокзал Туркестана, да он считается памятником архитектуры. Возвели его в далеком 1903 году во время прокладывания железнодорожных путей Оренбург – Ташкент.

Как добраться до Туркестана из Алматы?

Как доехать до Туркестана

      Мы предлагаем Вам наиболее удобный и рациональный способ посетить город Туркестан и окунуться в священно – историческую атмосферу, путем использования нашего сервиса!

      У нас Вы сможете подобрать для себя наиболее подходящий тур в Туркестан, который удовлетворит Вас как по датам и времени, так и по насыщенности программы тура. У нас Вы сможете найти наиболее подходящий для Вас тур.

      Как это сделать? Все довольно просто! Вы вбираете понравившийся Вам тур и оплачиваете его в два клика в режиме On – Line. Все что Вам остается сделать – это собрать рюкзак с необходимыми вещами и появиться на точке сбора в назначенное время. Как мы и сказали – все довольно просто!

      «El - tourism» - мы делаем отечественный туризм еще более удобным и доступным для Вас!